Blog ≫ 2007 ≫ Mars chocolate no longer suitable for vegetarians

As a vegan it doesn't make much difference to me, but I'm reposting this here without checking the facts anyway:

The Vegetarian Society is extremely disappointed to learn that Mars favourites such as Mars, Milky Way, Bounty, Snickers, Galaxy, Twix and Maltesers are now all unsuitable for vegetarians. At a time when more and more consumers are concerned about the provenance of their food, Masterfoods decision to use non-vegetarian whey is a backward step. Mars products are very popular with young people and many will be shocked to discover that their manufacture now relies on the extraction of rennet from the stomach lining of young calves.

Please contact Masterfoods Customer Services on 0845 045 0042 to express your concern.

If I found out this is wrong I'll pull this. [Rennet](https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=rennet) is what's used to separate the curds and whey in milk, and it's usually made from stomach lining...
⬅️ :: Meet the new boss ➡️
Wed May 16 2007

Paul Clarke's blog - I live in Hythe in Kent. Wed to Clare and father to 2, I am a full stack web engineer, + I do js / Node, some ruby, other languages etc. I like pubs, running, eating, home-automation + other diy stuff, history, genealogy, Television, squirrels, pirates, lego, + TIME TRAVEL.