Things To Buy

Home

Is this a virus?

Dec3

Pictures

Spotted a few of these in the logs, seems to be someone legitimately requesting a page, and then their browser is scanning the server for some other stuff, looking for a weakness I guess... so why would the browser do this? Is it a virus, or some sort of hackers plug-in?

cdm-66-233-151-122.fayt.cox-internet.com - - [03/Dec/2003:09:46:46 +0000] "GET /tree/32/ HTTP/1.1" 404 290 "http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&q=clarkeology" "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1)"
cdm-66-233-151-122.fayt.cox-internet.com - - [03/Dec/2003:09:46:46 +0000] "GET /_vti_bin/owssvr.dll?UL=1&ACT=4&BUILD=2614&STRMVER=4&CAPREQ=0 HTTP/1.1" 404 301 "-" "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1)"
cdm-66-233-151-122.fayt.cox-internet.com - - [03/Dec/2003:09:46:46 +0000] "GET /MSOffice/cltreq.asp?UL=1&ACT=4&BUILD=2614&STRMVER=4&CAPREQ=0 HTTP/1.1" 404 301 "-" "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1)"


I like this idea, is it a joke or what? It is possible, and clever, and quite cute. Speaking of which, RAH, Belle and Sebastian tonight... before then I have to fix up , it keeps toppling over, also show the promoters around the new band bible, make more progress on the manager, and arrange some house viewings for for Friday...

:: :: Comment / reply